Tags

, ,

Three weeks from now we will be packing up the car, locking the door on our Sioux City apartment for the last time, and driving across the country to move to our new home: Bend, Oregon.

Mark wrote a beautiful post about this exciting news.  I have drafted different versions of this post several times over the last week or two, but I keep starting over. I hope this one will stick.

The synopsis:

I’ll be starting a new job as the librarian for the OSU-Cascades campus in Bend, and working closely with the librarians at OSU’s Valley Library as well as COCC’s Barber Library. While the mothership campus of OSU in Corvallis has around 25,000 students, the OSU-Cascades campus only has around 900 right now.  I call this my Goldilocks job: the perfect balance of big and little, teams and independence.

The big picture:

I’ve been struggling to write this blog post because this move, this great adventure, actually carries far more significance for me than just a new job.  Moving has been my way of life for as long as I can remember. My family was in the Air Force so we moved every 3 years, sometimes more often. When I looked at colleges, I chose a part of the country we had never lived in because otherwise it was a waste of an opportunity.

That part of the country was the Pacific Northwest and I ended up in Oregon, where I lived for 8 years – my longest time ever in one state. From La Grande to Corvallis, Oregon felt like home.

Now.  Not only am I going back to live in a state where I lived before, but I’m going back home.  Back to the first state I chose to live in.

But most importantly – this could be our last move.  Sure, we’ll probably end up changing houses within Bend, but we might be going to the last zipcode we’ll ever have!  Dear Reader, I want to shake you right now to make sure you understand how much this blows my mind.

It’s always been hard for me to really invest in a place when I know that it’s temporary and I’ll only be moving again in a few years.  For some places, that was a relief. For others, it was bittersweet. But when I look at things in Bend, I’m looking with completely different eyes.  I’m looking at the community radio station KPOV and thinking about how I might get involved. I’m looking at all the festivals and events and realizing we will see them more than once. I’m looking at the waterfall hikes and catching my breath at the thought of visiting these places in different seasons.  I’ve found a vegan group, a letterpress and book arts printshop, gardening workshops, and thanks to twitter magic we’re already set to have drinks with a couple colleagues during our house hunting trip next week!

Even entertaining the idea of going somewhere that could really truly become Home is an emotional high that I can’t begin to explain.  This, my friends, is a whole new beginning.

