About a week ago, Mark  – of “habitually probing generalist” fame – and I tied the knot.  We were married at the courthouse here on our 2-year anniversary and then out at Lake of the Woods we exchanged vows, surrounded by a few friends and family.

The honeymoon, unfortunately, will have to wait a bit.  Four weeks from now, we’ll be in Sioux City, Iowa – our new home.  As soon as our wedding guests left town, our nice & neat little living room turned into a maze of boxes and packing materials.

I am looking forward to a shiny new job in Sioux City – I’ll be a librarian at Briar Cliff University.  In the back of  my mind, I’m also having fantasies about learning new hobbies from the simple (cooking at home!) to the much more complex (sewing! with a machine!).

Between now and then, we will see Mark’s daughter get married and I will go the ALA conference in D.C. with about 18 librarians from 4 different African countries.  The next four weeks will go by so very fast, I’m already feeling the whiplash.

