loom 1 (lōōm) intr.v. loomed, loom·ing, looms
1. To come into view as a massive, distorted, or indistinct image
2. To appear to the mind in a magnified and threatening form
3. To seem imminent; impend:
n. A distorted, threatening appearance of something, as through fog or darkness.
American Heritage Dictionary

Or see this definition from Random House, which I actually found somehow comforting:

n. a mirage in which objects below the horizon seem to be raised above their true positions.

The job hunt. Moving. Making REALLY BIG decisions. My feelings about these things are captured perfectly in the adjectives of the definitions above; “threatening” and “distorted” are particularly nice. Friends and colleagues have pointed out to me (many times) that I have a tendency to look too far into the future and worry about things that aren’t even possibilities yet. This usually means that I’m obsessing about something 5 to 10 years down the road.

But these things that worry me now are only ONE year down the road. One measly year. A trifle more than the 365 days. In other words, they’re just around the bloomin’ corner! And I should be worrying about them, but, oh, the grief they give me!

I came into library science with fantasies of being a well-rounded Renaissance scholar, and I have had a wonderful time dabbling in all sorts of topics. I like seeing the big picture and also being able to focus on the details – like a Google Map. Unfortunately, I don’t see too many want ads out there for “Renaissance scholar” and I’m not exactly clear on what the modern day equivalent might be. Don’t say “reference desk” … just don’t do it. Not listening to you, la la la.

I think back fondly on the days when I was a newly minted high school graduate applying for office jobs and all I needed was a high typing score. But nostalgia is a one-eyed mistress – she conveniently leaves out how much I was paid in those office jobs.

So if you are delighted and happy with your job or know other people who are, I would love to hear all about them. I’m going to need lots and lots of encouragement over the next several months and it’s never too soon to start. 🙂

