In times of stress, confusion, frustration and all around low feelings, what better salve than a good read?  This is something I’m just now rediscovering after a few years away from that magical, curious past-time known as “pleasure reading”… sure, I have plenty of other kinds of reading to do.  More than I know what to do with, in fact, which is why pleasure reading has gone to the wayside.  But material on library networks and community informatics is even drier than dry when you’re down in the dumps, so last week I picked up my first fiction in a long time.

It started on Tuesday (a week ago today)  with Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, which got me thinking about coming to work on Halloween in drag… my alter ego’s name would be Sebastian and he’d have a thin moustache with a small goatee.  🙂  And this fantasy of costumes then in turn led me think about all the plays I was in, long ago in a former life, and wondering how weird it would be to try out for a play here, in a land overrun by undergraduates.  Or would it be weird?  Hmmm…

I finished Middlesex yesterday and promptly started on Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.  I’ve been avoiding this book because it sounded too schmaltzy for my taste, but sometimes schmaltzy can be the literary equivalent of comfort food.  It’s not exactly fiction, but her style is fun, breezy, and it’s all about getting over heartbreak yet with a sense of humor.  Plus, she’s traveling, which makes for another great daydream.

