Read this first:

http://filteredthoughts.wordpress.com/2007/02/27/letter-writing/

Okay, now read this: red lounge chair?

A good friend is writing about the songs in her head, but my girlfriend has a letter in her head – or, more specifically – the object of said letter:  a red lounge chair.  We don’t know for certain what this red lounge chair looks like, so I picked a random example off a Google Image search.  I’m trying to convince my girlfriend to go talk to the letter writers, or at least send a letter back, because – she’s right – it raises a lot of questions.  We just had lunch together and traveled over this very subject back and forth.  Why does the grandson want the chair?  Will the grandparents get it back?  What’s the history with this chair?  What is the new owner thinking, if the new owner did indeed get a letter?

While my girlfriend sorts through these questions, I now have a poem stuck in my head:

William Carlos Williams

The Red Wheelbarrow

so much depends
upon

a red wheel
barrow

glazed with rain
water

beside the white
chickens.

