… and I missed it. Dagnabit.

Jennifer of “Life as I Know It” – which will have its one-year blogging anniversary next week! – just introduced me to BlogDay, best summed up by the creators’ site:

… created with the belief that bloggers should have one day dedicated to getting to know other bloggers from other countries and areas of interest. On this day every blogger will post a recommendation of 5 new blogs. In this way, all Blog web surfers will find themselves leaping around discovering new, previously unknown blogs.

Why August 31st? Because, according to the website, when written as “3108” it looks like the word “BlOg”… I know, I know. It was a little bit of a stretch for me, too, but I still like the concept behind it.

And I really like Jennifer’s BlogDay post, linking to other Library Science students from different programs across the country. I’m actually very impressed with her program at Southern Connecticut – the Portfolio, the Plan. These are exactly the kinds of things I’ve been drafting on my own just for my own sake, and to see them laid out so well and so deliberately is very encouraging. Mine are sort of… brainstormed… you could say. Handwritten on paper with arrows and lines connecting the thoughts.

But after talking with my advisor yesterday, I’m getting a clearer picture of what to do while I’m here. More on that after work. Happy belated BlogDay everyone!