I did a search for "pet-friendly Urbana Champaign" and came across this blog by an English professor at UIUC, which then led me to other fascinating people who are venting, musing, and slowly rushing their way through the forests of academia. Within ten minutes of reading and linking, I forgot all about my original pet-friendly search and became delightedly engrossed in all the wonderful conversations (1, 2) criss-crossing these blogs.

And it drives home a blogging conundrum that I am especially sensitive to, being a blogger novice… how does one build one's blogging community? I've read that leaving comments on blogs you like is one way to get readers, but the collection of blogs I looked at above seem to be from people who all know each other outside of the blogosphere.

Patience, I guess.  

