Lots of things have happened in this fine month of March 2006 that herald a renewal of those rusty communication lines I have neglected for far too long now. If you're an old friend who just got an email from me for the first time in a long time, I apologize for that really long time.

But now everything is changing and I'll tell you why. On March 13th, the day before the Full Crow Moon (or Full Worm Moon), I got a letter in the mail saying I had been accepted to the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign for the library science program. For my girlfriend and me, this meant an escape route out of Corvallis! We could leave our dead-end jobs! Finally change to a completely different zipcode andarea code, which is like a fresh blood transfusion for a military vet like her and a former military brat like me. Neither of us has had a new beginning like this for a few years so we're feeling long overdue.

And then later that week I finally came out to my parents about this long relationship I've had with a wonderful, beautiful woman.

I coupled this news with the grad school news, hoping both pieces of information would seem exciting and positive.

I am naive. That was almost two weeks ago and I still don't know how my dad is taking it.

